The Prison Healer: Review

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

From bestselling author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Sabaa Tahir.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Review:

So again another ‘me gushing barely coherent’ review because I LOVED THIS.

…..*crickets*……. *SCREECHING*

I AM SCREAMING AND HAVE BEEN SCREAMING FOR THE TWO DAYS SINCE IVE FINISHED THIS.

My gosh was this brilliant. EPIC. FANTASTIC.

This started off with me instantly knowing I was going to love it. It was just classic YA fantasy with a terrible prison, a challenging ordeal, rebels and rebellion, really cool elemental magic, royalty pretty much everything that makes me fall instantaneously in love with a book.

And then it had a twist. Then another one. AND THEN THE MOTHER TWISTS OF ALL TWISTS THAT IS CAUSING ALL THE SCREAMING.

The funny thing is, I thought I had it all figured it out, I was getting ready to huff and puff that while I love the wholesome, classic fantasy vibe that we were getting, It was very predictable. BUT IT WASN’T and all I can say is when an author can have my heart pumping and me jittery, anxiously NEEDING the sequel with an urgent ferocity at 4 am than you bet your favorite plot twist that book is getting five stars and making it onto my all time favorites list.

I highly, HIGHLY enjoyed this one. I loved it from the get go, I loved how mesmerizing the world was, how interesting the concept and world history is. There wasn’t a single moment where I wasn’t entranced. There was a point where I felt like Kiva kept repeating herself and some things got repetitive but it all worked out because I see now I was being diverted in preparation for the shock factor that was that ending. Lynette Noni is just… chef’s kiss. That’s what she is. She played us and did it so well that I just… *SCREAMS*

Thank you to the publisher for sending me an early copy in exchange of an honest review.

One thought on “The Prison Healer: Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s