‘The Girl I Left Behind’ Blog Tour + Giveaway

The Girl I Left Behind by Andie Newton

Publication Date: October 3, 2019 Aria Fiction eBook & Paperback; 368 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     What would you risk to save our best-friend? As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren’t as they appeared. But when her childhood best-friend shows Ella that you can’t always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance. On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party. Selling secrets isn’t an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about. Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another? Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall.

Available on Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Apple iBooks | Kobo

Praise for The Girl I Left Behind

‘A gripping historical page-turner about an audacious eighteen-year-old girl in Nazi Germany, who finds herself at the heart of the Reich. It’s a thrilling tale of female friendship, young love, and extraordinary courage, laced with chilling reminders of the fate Ella will face if her treachery is discovered. A powerful debut!’ Gill Paul, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Wife. ‘A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout,’ Glynis Peters, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Orphan. ‘A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world,’ Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker’s Secret. ‘The Girl I Left Behind made me cry and left me wanting more, which to me are signs of a truly wonderful book, one that will stay with me long after I’ve finished reading,’ Lana Kortchik, author of The Story of Us.

About the Author

Andie is an American writer living in Washington State with her husband and two boys. She writes female-driven WWII historical fiction. Her debut novel, THE GIRL I LEFT BEHIND, was published by Aria Fiction in October 2019. THE GIRL FROM VICHY, her second novel with Aria Fiction, will be released in July 2020 with a third untitled novel due to release in 2021. She has a Bachelor’s degree in History from Washington State University and a Master in Teaching. She would love to say she spends her free time gardening and cooking, but she’s killed everything she’s ever planted and set off more fire alarms than she cares to admit. Andie does, however, love spending time with her family, trail running, traveling the world, and drinking copious amounts of coffee. Andie would love to be a guest at your next book club! You can find discussion questions for her novels on her website www.andienewton.com. You can also find Andie on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, BookBub, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, December 2 Interview at Let Them Read Books Thursday, December 5 Review at Passages to the Past Sunday, December 8 Review at Robin Loves Reading Monday, December 9 Review at Bookish Bellee Wednesday, December 11 Interview at Passages to the Past Thursday, December 12 Review at Books In Their Natural Habitat Monday, December 16 Review at Lost_in_a_book_reviewer Wednesday, December 18 Review at The Lit Bitch Friday, December 20 Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a paperback back copy of The Girl I Left Behind! To enter, please use the Gleam form below. Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on December 20th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Paperback giveaway is open to the US only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen. The Girl I Left Behind https://widget.gleamjs.io/e.js

Review:

The Girl I left Behind 

5 stars 

Oh my goodness. This book. Wow. This is one of the most riveting, thought-provoking and inspirational stories I have ever read. I was blown away by the author’s ability to draw a reader in from the very first sentence and continue to captivate with her writing. As a reader, I felt like I was experiencing exactly what Ella, our main character, was experiencing, and growing as she was growing. 

The pace of the plot, the tension of the story, the preface itself, and the point of view that it was written from all accentuate Newton’s remarkable skills as a writer. A flawless debut and a timeless story of friendship, love, the effects of war and fighting for what you believe in! 

4 thoughts on “‘The Girl I Left Behind’ Blog Tour + Giveaway

  1. WOW! Thank you so much for being part of my blog tour, reading my book and providing this wonderful review! Plus, I just love this photo of my book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s